Tags

, , , , ,

Sannion recently posted “Worship Camazotz, not Bruce Wayne,” and I was reminded of a pen and ink drawing I made of Camazotz not that many months ago that I had nearly forgotten.

I apologize for the poor quality of the picture; I took it with my dinosaur of a camera-phone, and the image is a bit warped, since I didn’t bother to cut it from my sketchbook before taking a picture. I also superimposed my blog address over my signature, since it would totally defeat the purpose of writing under an alias I am better known by if people knew my legal name. Plus, that might somewhat compromise my reputation, if someone decided to “out” me as a Polytheist to anyone in the world of higher education, or any other area of the professional sphere I might someday end up in — or worse, negatively impact my husband’s military career. Unfortunately, even in the Modern Western world, religious discrimination is still something of a problem. Especially when people draw terrifying Gods that look like this:

Camazotz

I worship a number of Gods from at least three different cultures — four or five, if we count the deities adopted by both the Ancient Egyptians and the Mesopotamians from their neighbors throughout their respective histories. Mayan Gods, however, are not among the Gods of my household.

I sometimes have dreams about Gods and other Powers I don’t worship or otherwise know, and I draw or paint Them upon waking. If I remember what They say, if They say anything at all, I write that down in a journal. I can never know whether or not these images and words will come in handy later, whether for myself or someone else.

I have no profound or oracular words to go with this drawing.

I don’t know all that much about Camazotz, or Mayan religion. At best, I can offer only a paltry “Wikipedian” summary (I believe I may have just invented a pejorative term): “He made a cameo appearance in the Popol Wuj and He’s a chthonic bat-deity of night, death, and sacrifice.” Which, if I know anything about religion whatsoever, it’s that pigeonholing one-liners are seldom accurate, whether we’re talking about Gods and Spirits or theological/philosophical concepts. What significance He had to Mesoamerican people, and if He had any cult centers, I haven’t the slightest idea.

In any event, I present Him to you in all my fantastic ignorance. Hopefully someone out there will find this useful, and/or be inspired to write a more detailed history of Him than the open internet currently sees fit to give.

